Welcome SewDown Nashville!

Last Friday I was lucky enough to be able host the entire group of women who came to Nashville to attend SewDown Nashville in my shop. We had discussed setting up a small “pop-up” version of the store at the hotel where the convention was taking place, but since I had no one to watch the store while I would have been at the hotel, and I also didnt really know what I would bring, I asked if they would come to me instead! Luckily they already had a tour bus (in fact it was 2 tour buses!) driving them to Franklin to go on a studio tour at Anna Maria Horner’s (which looked amazing), so they added my store to their itinerary.

I luckily had two good friends who agreed to help run the register while I cut fabric, and thank goodness they were there or it would have been absolutely impossible. At around 7:00 we saw this bad boy pull up outside the shop:

Bus 1 of 2

Bus 1 of 2

It was huge! And then the woman in charge informed me the second bus was about 10 minutes away. Ok! My store very quickly filled up and within about 2 minutes people were picking things out and handing them to me to cut. I even cut batting for Angela Waters…. it was pretty exciting!

This a picture the Modern Quilt Guild posted on Instagram of my shop looking like a Jeni's ice cream store :)

This a picture the Modern Quilt Guild posted on Instagram of my shop looking like a Jeni’s ice cream store 🙂

They were in the store for just about 1 hour exactly, and in that time I had 38 transactions. It was crazy, and it was so, so fun! It was great to see what people bought (happy to report that the pink zebra fabric was a hit) and talk to people who are super excited about sewing and fabric, just like me. I met a woman who owns a fabric store in New Jersey and she organizes a “shop owners” dinner at Quilt Market (which I’m going to in Pittsburgh next month), so that was also really fun. It was a great whirlwind, and I was so happy it worked out!

Fabric frenzy

Fabric frenzy

2 thoughts on “Welcome SewDown Nashville!

Leave a comment